🠈  About Denver  🠊

NOTE: This page was design for display on the mobile version of Denver Color

Denver, Colorado is the capital and largest city of Colorado. Denver City has a population of over 600,000. The urban area a population of 2 million and the metropolitan area a population of 2.5 million.

Denver and Broomfield Colorado have a combined city/county government. Other counties in the metropolitan area include Arapahoe County, Jefferson County, Adams County, Boulder County and Douglas County.

Denver was named by General William Larimer on November 22, 1858 after the Kansas Territorial governor James W. Denver. General Larimer was hoping that his stake overlooking the confluence of Cherry Creek and the North Platte would become the county seat of Arapahoe County and not the rival town of Auraria.

Denver became the territorial capital of Colorado in 1867 and the state capital on August 1, 1876.

Prev ~ ~ Index ~ ~ Next